Turkey Day in Southeast Idaho

For Thanksgiving I loaded up the old four door and visited Rexburg, Idaho. Besides seeing friends, there are two things I love about going to Rexburg. First, they have a Jack-in-the-Box. We have no Jack-in-theBox in Salt Lake. I figure that I only get Jack-in-the-Box two or three times per year and my body can handle such minimal abuse. Besides, who doesn’t love Jack’s tacos? Second, its a great opportunity to photograph stuff that I don’t see everyday at home.

20141126_0105

Grain silos along an out-of-use rail line

Railroad tracks are great for depth-of-field shots. The converging lines of the rails draw the eye to the horizon and give a sense of distance. I also love shooting old farm equipment and buildings. Their weathered appearance, faded colors and irregular lines  add character to the shot.

Three boys and a steel bridge

My sons and their cousin exploring the Lorenzo Bridge near Rexburg, Idaho.

What’s better than a rail line? A 99-year old, steel, railroad bridge! This bridge over the Snake River has fascinated me for years. The setting is beautiful with tall trees, fast-moving water and unobscured views. But I think what I love most are the lines created by the steel trusses and beams. The old, steel bridges have so much personality, great lines and are far more interesting than the modern, bland, concrete bridges.

Long exposure shot of falls in St. Anthony, Idaho

Long exposure shot of falls in St. Anthony, Idaho

A few miles up the road is the town of St. Anthony. The Snake River passes through the middle of town and they have a quaint park and war memorial around the falls. Due to the extra bulk and weight, I don’t usually carry a tripod with me. Fortunately for me I had the tripod when we arrived at the falls.

I haven’t done a lot of long exposure shooting so this was a chance to experiment and learn. The first lesson was that I needed to lower the ISO and use a shutter speed of 1/2 second or longer. I also learned the value of balancing the quantities of blurred area and still areas. I got to put those lessons into practice a week or so later, but that’s for another post.

The empty fields where potatoes and grain were thriving a few weeks ago seemed so sleepy. The opportunity to capture that sleepy peace was irresistible.

Solitary grain silos stand watch over vast, empty fields.

Solitary grain silos stand watch over vast, empty fields.

As a kid I recall hearing the stories of the devastation caused by the failure of the Teton Dam. The boys and I had to go check out the site where the dam once stood. To see the chasm created as the water broke through the earthen dam was astounding. It was easy to understand how the flood devastated three towns, wiped out miles of prime farmland and killed 11 people.

The Teton Dam site. The canyon wall is on the left and what's left of the dam to the right.

The Teton Dam site. The canyon wall is on the left and what’s left of the dam to the right. The remnants of the dam’s spillway can be seen on the far side of the canyon.

The light and the wind weren’t very conducive to good photos, but I wanted to show the astonishing amount of earth displaced as the reservoir drained at the rate of 2 million cubic feet per second.

On the drive back to Rexburg we decided to explore some backroads. It paid off nicely when we happened upon this little fixer-upper. The late-day light was a bit harsh, but it couldn’t diminish the weathered glory.

Two room, one outhouse bungalow. Great location. Close to nothing. Could use a little TLC.

Two room, one outhouse bungalow. Great location. Close to nothing. Could use a little TLC.

I don't know what kind of plant this is, but caught in the morning light it had an other-worldly appearance.

I don’t know what kind of plant this is, but caught in the morning light it had an other-worldly appearance.

Leave a comment